arrow_downarrow_leftarrow_rightarrow_upbookmarkArtboard 6bubbleicon_arrow_lefticon_birdicon_calicon_facebookicon_mailicon_searchicon_twittericon_websiteicon-emailicon-facebookicon-ldicon-twitterArtboard 6review_countsigthumbs_downthumbs_uptop_allArtboard 6top_yearw-negw-nonew-nutw-pos

Brickenden 2018 Award Winners

By Keith Tomasek, Jan., 28, 2019

I had the honour of hosting the 17th annual Brickenden awards, celebrating independent theatre in London.

The big winner was the London Community Theatre production of “Beauty and the Beast” which received 7 awards, including both the Outstanding Male Actor award for Colton Abel, and the Outstanding Female Actor award for Alicia D’Ariano who was featured in this article on Stratford Festival Reviews.

The Allswell Productions of “Dogfight,” with music and lyrics by Pasek & Paul, upset “Beauty and the Beast” by taking the Outstanding Musical Award, with Hailey Hill taking the Outstanding Director award. “Dogfight” also won the award for Andrew Bragg’s Outstanding lighting.

Zoe Bernard, who won the award for Outstanding Male Actor in a Supporting Role was featured in this article.

Below is the complete list of the winners. Come back tomorrow for photos from the awards show and the after party, which was held at the TAP Centre for Creativity.

Outstanding Drama
The December Man (L’homme de decembre) (London Community Players)

Outstanding Comedy
HIR (Calithumpian Theatre Company)

Outstanding Musical
Dogfight (Allswell Productions)

Outstanding Director
Hailey Hill (Dogfight)

Outstanding Male Actor – Lead Role
Colton Abel (Beast, Beauty and the Beast)

Outstanding Female Actor – Lead Role
Alicia D’Ariano (Belle, Beauty and the Beast)

Outstanding Female Actor – Supporting Role
Bronwyn Powell (Signora Nacarelli, The Light in the Piazza)

Outstanding Male Actor – Supporting Role
Zoe Bernard (Max, HIR)

Outstanding Lighting Design
Andrew Bragg (Dogfight)

Outstanding Sound Design
Lisa Desgroseilliers (Beauty and the Beast)

Outstanding Set Design
Kerry Bishop (Beauty and the Beast)

Outstanding Costume Design
Anne Humberstone, Annette Kavelaars-Burrows, Debra Chantler, Mary Jane Walzak, Tania Harvey & Whitney Bolam (Beauty and the Beast)

Outstanding Makeup
Candice Burgo (Beauty and the Beast)

Outstanding Youth Drama
A Midsummer Night’s Dream (London Central Secondary School)

Outstanding Youth Musical
BIG FISH (Original Kids Theatre Company)

Outstanding Youth Actor – Female
Olivia Farquhar (A Midsummer Night’s Dream)

Outstanding Youth Actor – Male
Devon Dixon (Big Fish)

Outstanding Original Script
This Above All (Diane Vandenhoven)

People’s Choice
Beauty and the Beast (London Community Players)

Chris Doty Award
Jason Rip

Traditional arts journalism is in decline. Now more than ever, this independent website and our podcast fill a growing void. We've had over 1.5 million page views, and are grateful that you are here. We rely on readers — and a handful of advertisers who share our values — to make our work possible. When we raised funds for our podcast, The "Performers Podcast," the average donation from people like you was $96. Now we hope you’ll join us in augmenting our coverage of arts in the region by making a one-time donation today.

Founder Stratford Festival Reviews
Donate Now

Brickenden 2018 Award Winners

Keith Tomasek
28 January 2019
News and Rumors

What did you think?

Share This Post:

Share This Tweet This Email This